Are we there yet?

21 Jun

I remember as a kid, my dad would tell me and my little sister, we’re going to six flags in the morning.  The entire night I couldn’t get any rest.  The anticipation, the excitement, how eager I was, a feeling that can’t be described using words.  Is this only a childhood phase or does it resurface as an adult like emotion?  Have you ever met someone of the opposite sex and it seemed the chemistry was on fire.  The connection was so rare, that you couldn’t stop talking to or about that person.  You found yourself planning futuristic dates with this person, before you even went on your first one.  If you can relate to this feeling, you’ve experienced the honeymoon phase.  This is a phase that can sometimes effect your judgement, in good or bad ways.  The constant questioning of yourself: should I do this or that, am I allowed to say this, should I wait?   The butterflies in your stomach, all of these symptoms can make a person feel like they are in early signs of love.  In which it further trigger systematic reactions, that can either break or make your relationship.  But what happens when it isn’t what we hyped it up to be?  What becomes of all your personal excitement when the feeling isn’t mutual from your counter part?  Do they naturally believe you’re crazy, or that you’re forcing yourself to feel a certain way?  Do you end up losing all interest in this person once your emotions subside?  Hmmm, I may not be able to answer all of these questions, but I will say this.  Every time me and my little sister rode the first few rides and the day progressed.  Six Flags turned out to be a place that we’ve gone a few times a year, sure there were new rides every now and again, but overall it was a overrated experience that made us lose hours of sleep. 

3 Responses to “Are we there yet?”

  1. Maria June 21, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Ouch! Yeah I’ve been in that situation too many times to want to remember. One day though, I’ll be “there.”

  2. tamara June 22, 2012 at 4:27 am #

    Well yes I have been there but I enjoy being there. Like you I lost sleep thinking about the trip that waited ahead but when it finally came the excitement did not go away. I hated when my parents said ok the park is closing….time to go home. I want to feel the same in a relationship. i want to be excited all the time, never wanting the excitement to end! I believe that it is possible…

  3. Jae June 23, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    im there right now

Leave a Reply

